The Scribbler

22 November 2012

A new word for a familiar feeling

Filed under: language,run,training,words — The Scribbler @ 19:07

Someone tweeted this link  to words that don’t exist in English. Well I love a new word or 25, so I was happy to learn some.

The one that really stood out for me was:

Meraki (pronounced may-rah-kee; from Greek)– doing something with soul, creativity or love. When you put something of yourself into what you’re doing.

Isn’t that a lovely word for a lovely idea?

It got me thinking about what I do with meraki.

I write with it, certainly. Not always, I’ll admit. But the really good stuff, the phrases that have stayed with me, things I’ve been nervous about making public have had meraki.

I read with meraki too. When I pick them up, books are more than just objects. They open up new landscapes and conversations. There are characters I regard as old friends. They have delighted and comforted me when I’ve needed it.

I train with meraki too. Probably running is where I find it most often. It’s easy to trace in those glorious faultless moments where it feels so easy, it’s like flying. When you feel like you could keep going for ever. They don’t last long, but you never forget them.

There’s meraki too in the tough times, the early mornings or the sweat, strain and mental challenge of a race. When you push yourself and leave it all out there, because just then, at that moment it’s the whole, the everything, the only thing that really matters.

I half joked elsewhere this week that I run with my heart. Of course I do. It pumps the blood to my muscles so that I can. But I meant more than just the physical biology.

When I run, when I train, when I swim or cycle, emotion plays a big part in it. Positive and negative, frustration and success, high drama and quiet reflections.

And I think what I really meant was that I do it with meraki. I just didn’t have the word for it. Now I do.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

