The Scribbler

11 October 2012

New workout, new focus

I’m trying a new approach to my exercise routine at the moment. I think it’s good to make a change, shake up your exercise routine every so often. And after a period devoted to running and getting the miles in for the Great North Run, it’s good to do something a bit different.

The new workout, designed by my PT Ian is designed to blitz fat. It focuses on tabata  or short bursts of high intensity activity, interspersed with short periods of rest. So I do a series of exercises with the kettlebell on a 20 seconds on, 10 seconds off  repeat. Then I follow that up with a series of short sprint intervals.

Boy it’s a tough workout that really got my heart rate up and had me sweating.  But I really enjoyed it, and it felt like a great value workout for 40 minutes’ effort.

I haven’t officially set any new goals yet, but this time of year is when I traditionally take a bit of a training review and look ahead to what I want to do next.

I have a few ideas, and triathlon is definitely the focus again for 2013, with the challenge of moving up to standard distance. But it’s off season for triathlon, and while I can do some good base building on my swim and bike fitness, I think I can also afford to have some fun and enjoy winter training.

Another thing I want to focus on is getting my studying done for my Level 2 Gym instructor qualification. I’ve already worked through some of the reading and online sessions and am really enjoying it. But I need to make it a priority to make time to do it properly. I hope to be ready to take one or two of the assessments by Christmas or early in the New Year.

But one thing I have started is to get back on track with healthy eating and to try and lose a few pounds. I put on a bit of weight last year, with the usual post Christmas indulgence. Nothing really noticeable, but after having to ease back on running earlier in the year with plantar fasciitis, I never really shifted it.

It’s not so much the weight I’m bothered about as the bad habits actually. I have a sweet tooth that it’s easy to indulge, especially when training for a half marathon. But the chocolate treats were becoming a daily habit, often fuelled by boredom and inactivity. And that’s not a healthy attitude to food.

So I’m back from a fab holiday where I ate out at every meal, didn’t deny myself anything and enjoyed it all. Which is a much healthier attitude.

But to stop myself falling back into the thoughtless grazing, I’ve drawn a line in the sand, and I’m cutting out as much sugar as possible for the next two weeks. No cakes, biscuits, chocolate or sweeties and even cutting down on the amount of fruit I eat.

So far, so good. I even managed to resist temptation when faced with four types of home made cake at the farm open day on Saturday. Although being given the task of putting warm tray bake onto plates was a test of my resolve.

I’ll still be running (I have plans for that too), but I don’t need the long miles so much, so it will be good to change focus from time and pace and enjoy some shorter runs. And I’m really looking forward to testing myself through the mud and obstacles at the Newcastle Stampede this weekend.

I’ll also be supporting runners, by volunteering at  Newcastle parkrun and cheering on everyone taking part in the Town Moor marathon. It’s great fun cheering runners on in a race, and I know how much I always appreciate a shout out, especially on the Great North Run. And without the help of marshals and volunteers, I wouldn’t have the chance to take part in so many races and fun events.

2 Comments »

  1. Hey girl!!! I got a photo with Chrissie Wellington last night.. woo hoo http://day2daywear.blogspot.com/2012/10/another-day-in-paradise.html
    and hey.. have you heard of Paleo? sounds like if you are cutting out alot of the stuff mentioned above this might be the way you are turning for your eating plan.. I have found it really effective!!
    hope all is well and good to hear you are still at the triathlons!! xo Jodi

    Like

    Comment by Jodi — 11 October 2012 @ 22:51 | Reply

    • Hi Jodi! I’m thrilled to hear from you out in Kona. And you got to meet my hero Chrissie W! I’ll check out Paleo and see if it would suit me. I’m hoping a couple of weeks of cutting out the processed sugar will get me back on track so I can indulge in the odd treat again from time to time.

      Like

      Comment by The Scribbler — 12 October 2012 @ 09:49 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

