The Scribbler

1 October 2012

Running along the river

Filed under: run,swim,travel — The Scribbler @ 18:27
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I went for a run last  Thursday. My first since the Great North Run. Just a couple of miles, under a bright blue autumn sky, along by the river. The St Lawrence river, that is, in Quebec, Canada. Yes, I’ve been away, on a wonderful holiday

View of the St Lawrence river and Chateau Frontenac from the Plains of Abraham in Quebec

A beautiful sunny day to explore Quebec city

A slight chill in the blueness kept me moving, and numbering the days left for shorts and a tech T. This was just a run for the hell of it. A couple of miles before breakfast, exploring the waterfront of an unfamiliar place, just happy to be awake, alive and enjoying the chances of new experiences that travel throws in your way.

It was my first trip to Canada but I doubt it’s my last. We enjoyed the friendliness of the welcome, the food,the ease of getting around and the differences we found in each new place.

We have taken a trip into the mists of a waterfall, watched puffins and penguins swimming, cycled round a race track, eaten dinner in a revolving restaurant and stood atop a glass floor looking down hundreds of feet below. I hope to blog the experience in more detail now I’m back.

I did manage a small bit of exercise while I was away. A huge amount of walking to explore Toronto, Ottowa, Montreal and Quebec. And when the hotel has a heated outdoor pool that no one else seems to want to use, it would be rude not to put in a few lengths, non? In Montreal, we also hired bikes and took them for a spin on the Formula One race track, which was great fun.

It feels an age since the Great North Run. A flurry of a weekend, almost too full of excitement, emotion and busyness. And I was ready for a training break afterwards. Once again it marks the end of my training year and I’ll no doubt reflect on that more in time to come.

Right now, I’m glad to be back in familiar surroundings, catching up with what my friends have been up to, settling back into cooking for ourselves rather than eating out and tackling the mountain of washing.

But my mind is full of memories, sights, sounds and smells – another kaleidoscope of experiences for the jars in my memory store. They shine and sparkle like the touch of light on a waterfall and smell of cinnamon and pine. I’m very happy to have them.

1 Comment »

  1. Wow I don’t know whether or not it’s me or perhaps your blog site but it’s starting seriously slowly for me, it took
    me sort of a minute or two to finally load up still , facebook does
    work fine . Anyways, Thanks for putting up an incredibly
    great blog post. I think it has already been really helpful to visitor who seem to visit here.
    I personally ought to mention that you have done brilliant
    work with this and additionally wish to find more brilliant
    stuff through you. To get more information by posts you post, I actually have saved to my bookmarks this
    website.

    Like

    Comment by dota2hack.org — 13 January 2016 @ 08:41 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

