The Scribbler

12 September 2012

The further adventures of Tony the Fridge

Tony the Fridge made an appearance on the Chris Evans Breakfast Show on BBC Radio 2 this morning. And since then, I’ve noticed people searching for him and finding my blog. So I’m giving him a bit of a bump.

In case you don’t know, Tony is running 30 Great North Runs in 30 days carrying a 40kg fridge on his back to raise money for the Sir Bobby Robson Foundation which funds cancer research. His last one will be on the day of the race – Sunday 16 September.

You can listen again to Tony’s interview online:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/evans

Find out more about his challenge on his charity fundraising page or follow his daily pictures and updates on twitter @tony_the_fridge.

I’ve been lucky enough to run part of the route with Tony twice now and will do again before race day. You can read about my experience of running with him on Day 13 and Day 20 of his challenge. He’s doing an amazing thing, so if you can show him your support, I know he appreciates it.

Meantime, my own race preparation continues to go well. I did my last training run this morning and caught myself thinking of it as ‘just’ 6 miles. 6 miles is a good distance, it’s just that running much longer training runs now makes it seem relatively short and easy.

I’ve also been for a fantastic sports massage, a little treat to myself to make sure my legs are in fine fettle for race day. So  the plan now is to rest well, eat well, sleep well and stay well ready to smile on the start line and sprint for the finish.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

