The Scribbler

26 July 2012

Are you excited yet?

I am.

I’ve been wearing my Team GB scarf today and counting down the hours until my day off which I plan to fill with tri fun.

And yes, I’m excited about the Olympics too. And yes I know there’s a lot of money stuff and corporate sponsorship by brands I don’t approve of, and transport is likely to be a nightmare for Londoners and G4S didn’t get into gear. But I don’t care.

I remain resolutely hopeful and optimistic that something good will come of the Olympics in London in 2012. In fact, watching the story of the torch relay on TV last night, I know it already has; as brave and wonderful ordinary people enjoyed their moment in the spotlight.

I’m looking forward to a magic Olympic moment. Whether that’s a lump in my throat or a tear in my eye during the spectacular opening ceremony. Or an athlete’s story of unlooked for success that raises a cheer, like Kelly Holmes storming her way to two gold medals.

I have my favourites, my team I’ll cheer on – Beckie, Jess, Mo, Dai, Jonny, Alastair, Helen, Cav, Wiggo, Kerri-Anne, Paula, Lewis, Beth and I’m sure there will be others.

What must they be feeling right now? I can’t claim to have any understanding of the pressure or the expectation, but I do know in my own small way, what it feels like to train and focus on one event and want to be the best you can be in that moment, at that time.

So good luck team. Be strong in heart. No limits. Dream big.

1 Comment »

  1. I am stupidly excited! I can’t wait to watch the opening ceremony tonight – and then a whole blissful two weeks of television! 🙂 Go TeamGB!

    Like

    Comment by chocolatefuelled — 27 July 2012 @ 13:52 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

