The Scribbler

23 July 2012

Two runs, a wedding and a night in a tent

Filed under: run — The Scribbler @ 21:01
Tags: , , ,

After work on Friday I joined parkrunner Tove for a nice 10k in Jesmond Dene. It’s a bit more up and down than my usual routes, so it was hard work, especially when, at my request, we tackled a couple of the long hills. But it was really enjoyable to run with company and on a different route.

I couldn’t have been more pleased at the upturn in the weather though, as it happily turned out sunny and dry for our friends’ wedding on the Saturday. Given that they live and work on their farm and have been digging trenches to stop water running into their butchery, and most of their crops have drowned this summer, it was about time something went well for them. And really you couldn’t find two people more deserving of a bit of sunshine on their special day.

Gary and I were honoured to be invited to the actual ceremony itself which took place in the nearby town registry office. Then we hot footed it back to the farm to prepare for all the rest of the guests arriving.

We all pitched in, fetching, carrying, decorating and arranging a huge feast. It was a great wedding party, very casual, laid back and home made. There was a lamb spit roast and huge loaves of fresh bread, home made beer, strawberry cider, elderflower champagne and acres of salad. The vicar did a blessing in front of their poly tunnel and the dress code was summer chic with wellies! Most importantly of all, our friends enjoyed it and looked very happy.

The party wound down in the early evening, with just a few guests remaining to help clear up. All summer Gary has been angling to camp out up at the farm and has bought all the kit to do it. But the weather’s really not been kind and, as a camping virgin, I only agreed to go along if it promised to be fair.

So Saturday night was my first ever night under canvas. And it was reasonably comfortable although we were woken by the pet lamb who seemed to be calling out come and shelter in our tent!

I’d been a bit concerned about Sunday’s run, knowing I’d be picking it up after a busy day and not sleeping in my own bed ( I love my bed) and that I planned to do 10 miles. So while the wedding party started brewing tea and sizzling bacon butties, I made my way home for porridge and banana and a slightly later than usual start to my run.

In honour of the Northumberland Coastal Run, also taking place this weekend, I devised my own coastal route along the cliff top paths between Tynemouth, and Whitley Bay, towards Seaton Delaval. It was quite a glorious day for a run. A bit of a breeze and a smattering of clouds, but still bright and warm enough to feel like summer at last.

I took my feet off the roads and pavements and struck out on the trails to help keep my pace slow and easy, but I had to keep reminding myself to pick my feet up and go lightly. I deliberately tried to keep it slow, but didn’t really pay much attention to my pace, just figuring it as time on my feet.

I was surrounded by beautiful scenery, blue seas, rockpools and even a sandcastle building competition on the beach. The paths and pavements were busy with walkers and cyclists and there were plenty of cheery smiles as people enjoyed the sense of summer in the air at last. Along some of the narrower coastal paths, walkers even stopped and stepped to one side to allow me to keep up my running rhythm. I thought of my friends out racing and as I made my way home, looked forward to hearing about their adventures.

So all in all, it was a nice run, albeit a slow one. My only slight irritation was forgetting to restart my Garmin after I’d stopped for a drink of water and missing a couple of miles where I tried to pick up the pace. But overall, I’m just happy that I am managing to do more miles, without any sign of my injury problems returning.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

