The Scribbler

2 June 2012

Super six go cycling in the sunshine

Filed under: bike,training — The Scribbler @ 16:52
Tags: , , , , , ,

After a proper big week of training and fun and taking advantage of our sudden British summer, I started to dial things down a bit last weekend.

I couldn’t resist the lure of parkrun and the rare chance to run on the Town Moor under blue skies. I had few expectations for this and as I set off, I felt my legs just lacked any power. I’d warmed up and felt fine, but when it came to the run, I just sensed I wasn’t really going to get much from going for it, so eased back and tried to enjoy it. Don’t get me wrong, I still put the effort in and it was still a tough run, but I wasn’t constantly pushing or agitating my breath.

It’s a balance, knowing when to listen to a head that says “You’ve had a big week, you don’t need to go nuts,” and when to ignore the kind of thoughts that talk you out of a race before you’ve even started. But I’ve promised myself I will learn from this year’s injury spell and just enjoy the experience sometimes. So, I finished slower again this week, but I recovered quickly and was pleased with a decent training run.

On Sunday, I had a much more exciting prospect planned, a Fetchie girls meet up for a spot of cycling and cake. Sue, Karen, Lesley Anne, Penny and I got together at Lisa ‘s place in Beamish and after a bit of bike faffing we set off up part of the Coast to Coast route, enjoying the sunshine and chat.

Unlike my last cycling adventure, I realised that I was probably one of the more experienced cyclists in the group, but our newbies did a fantastic job. I’m not sure I could have managed a good couple of hours in the saddle in my first adventures. But it was great to be travelling along the traffic free paths, passed many times by fellow cyclists, stopping to catch up or enjoy the view.

Sunshine and optimism and good company and there was even talk of a complete C2C trek maybe next year. I eyed up Lisa’s cyclocross bike as I felt very strange to be riding my old mountain bike again, but it was perfect for nice, easy cycle with a quick blast of speed at the end.

I even managed to persuade Karen, Susie and Lesley Anne out for a bit of a run off the bikes before we collapsed in the garden ready for squash and cakes and more chat. I think we all felt like we could have settled there for the afternoon, with great hospitality from Jason and Lisa. Another great day out on the bikes with friends I’ve only met through running.

This weekend I will be taking part in my first open water triathlon. It’s a sport I’ve really grown to love. So I’m excited and a little nervous, but that’s not such a bad thing.

1 Comment »

  1. […] the wet summer, I can assure you we did have some super sunny days. That tri day was one, and our Fetch ladies cycling day, when me, Karen, Penny, Lisa and Lesley Anne took on part of the C2C route, was […]

    Like

    Pingback by 2012 – a review of my training and racing year « The Scribbler — 30 December 2012 @ 19:26 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

