The Scribbler

1 July 2011

Stick me on the stupid injury step

Filed under: training — The Scribbler @ 18:24
Tags: ,

I managed to dislocate the top joint of my middle finger on my right hand at boxercise on Wednesday night. An absolute freak accident as I caught a punch badly and it got bent back very sharply.

Bandaged finger

Ouch!

So I spent a couple of hours in A&E getting checked out, X-rayed and stitched up. It just reminded me what a fantastic service our NHS is. Okay, I was lucky to be there on a quiet night with a relatively simple to fix injury, but we just turned up at a local hospital 10 minutes from where we live and got sorted. And there were a total of 7 people involved in my care during the relatively short time I was there.

I was actually really lucky. The doctor who assessed me and then later stitched the wound set my expectations for three possible outcomes:

1) simple dislocation that’s relocated itself and a few stitches
2) broken finger
3) more complicated dislocation with damage to nerves/tendons

Given that I write for a living and I’m right handed, I was very glad to get off so lightly. Of course that hasn’t stopped me bemoaning the fact that my injury mean I missed my favourite Thursday morning PT session this week. Or that it sidelines me from swimming or cycling for another week.

It shows how much I enjoy everything I do, that I’m sad I can’t enjoy some of my usual cross training. On the positive side though, at least it doesn’t sideline me from running. But I am going to take it as a sign that maybe a week doing a bit less than usual won’t hurt too much. Ouch!

1 Comment »

  1. Get well soon slugger

    Like

    Comment by Pete — 1 July 2011 @ 19:31 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

