The Scribbler

7 May 2011

Here I go again

Filed under: training,triathlon — The Scribbler @ 11:10
Tags: ,
Me on my bike at Ashington triathlon

Ashington triathlon picture courtesy of Carve photography

I feel like I’ve raced through this week at a hundred miles an hour and that lovely Bank Holiday Monday Rendezvous Run was years ago. I’ve been busy with an important project at work. Lots of writing and the challenge of keeping it fresh and writing for a different audience than usual. So it’s all good.

On Thursday, I did my usual PT session on the beach and it was a glorious morning for it. Barely a breath of wind and a pale pink hue on the horizon. Because of the high tide, we were restricted to a small patch of soft sand, making my legs work even harder. There were a couple of exercise sets that I thought I wouldn’t be able to complete, but somehow I found the bit extra and finished abuzz and aglow from another great session.

And talking to Ian, I’m happy that my triathlon plans this summer won’t interfere too much with my running goals. In fact, he recommended I do more triathlons!

I took Gary out for a very nice birthday meal that evening – so I had a treat too. He finished it with a posh knickerbocker glory. Proper birthday stuff!

Friday was absolutely manic. I was trying to pick up amends and feedback and rewrite things in between being focused and paying attention at some really important meetings. My brain got a real work out! But I enjoy that hubbub and energy. Good job I had plenty of fuel.

Selection of cupcakes in a box

Rikalicious cupcakes - totally yummy

My friend Erika made some gorgeous chocolate cupcakes for my charity cake sale last year. And I ordered some more for the Newcastle Town Moor marathon runners and support crew. Since then, she’s really got going with Rikalicious Cupcakes – her baking business.

As the business I work for is all about helping other businesses, I thought I’d order some for our team meeting to give her a bit of publicity and get some tasting feedback on some new flavours she was trying. They got a cheer and round of applause when I unveiled them.

I ended up working a bit late on Friday, and got a call from Gary wondering where I was and if I wanted to go join him spending his birthday money. So off on a bit of a shopping spree, I ended up with some nice new clothes for myself too. It was just great to do something spur of the moment.

It was a spur of the moment decision that made me enter my second triathlon this Sunday. There are only a few with pool swims locally and I knew there were another couple coming up. But knowing that I probably wouldn’t get another opportunity again until August, I took the plunge and will be competing in the Darlington sprint triathlon this Sunday.

Unlike my first one, I haven’t really had much time to think about this one. It’s a 400m pool swim, 16 mile bike and 3 mile run. I don’t know the course so I’m just going to throw myself into it and do it for the experience. I’m hoping the more I do, the less nervous I’ll be. And really, for this one, there are no expectations. It’s just a very varied training session.

But if you have time to spare a thought or a wee cheer for number 51 tomorrow, I’ll appreciate it.

1 Comment »

  1. Great read Michelle, have a super day tomorrow we wish you luck & send our love. Mum & Glenn We will be thinking of you.XX

    Like

    Comment by Christine Sumner — 7 May 2011 @ 20:27 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

