The Scribbler

19 April 2011

Adrenaline spike

Filed under: triathlon — The Scribbler @ 19:56
Tags:

When Peter announced his race number for Ashington triathlon, I had to go and look for mine didn’t I?

Even just  doing that sent a surge of adrenaline through me. And that’s fine here and now because it translates as excitement. But I can understand how the same unconscious reaction can turn the other way – the fight or flight response.

So I did what I plan to do if I’m hit by the same emotions in the race. Took some deep breaths and got on with it. Arguably slightly easier to do on a walk around the office buildings, than in a pool full of people. But still…it’s a plan.

I’ve had some really nice messages of encouragement this week. And riding the course with Peter and Flip gives me a good idea of what to expect. Someone, whose opinion I trust and value, said I’m ready for this. And I know I am. I have trained as well as I am able. Prepared as well as I can. And now I’m just ticking over, waiting for the moment to prove it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

