The Scribbler

26 February 2011

Sunshine and showers

Filed under: Parkrun,run — The Scribbler @ 17:28
Tags:

It was great to be back at parkrun again this morning after a slightly more measured week, but I was anxious not to put too much pressure on myself for a repeat of last week’s unexpected course PB.

The rain lashed own as I drove into the city, but was kind enough to keep away for the run. Still, grey and overcast, but not so cold as last week, conditions were about as fair as you can expect on the Town Moor. Dave popped up to say hello as I was getting ready and I caught up with Lesley and Jeff and then got a really nice surprise as Ian, my PT turned up for his first parkrun.

No too much to say about this run really. I went out strong but felt a bit uncomfortable with my tummy and breathing in the first kilometre. Settled down in the second and ran well out along the edge of the park. Got a nice shout of encouragement from Stuart just after the first gate and had another little pace battle with a runner between 2 and 3.

Lost my will a little in the usual spot, turning onto the rough ground behind the museum and was overtaken by a runner in an orange club vest who I recognised from him overtaking me in roughly the same spot last week. So I probably eased off a little approaching the last gate and then picked up again for the last kilometre.

I really tried to push from the last turn, gaining ground on a couple of runners ahead. I’d already picked an earlier marker for a longer sprint finish when a runner coming back from the start shouted ‘Just a couple of hundred metres to go’. And that was me, hammer down, full on sprint for the line, taking down a male runner on the way and gaining ground on a lady in front. I thought I’d overblown it, but just managed to find a bit more to get to the line. But boy, that hurt and I felt really dizzy as I stopped.

Saw Jeff at the line as usual spurring me on. Thanks buddy. These sprint finishes are especially for you Mr Speedy – the only time I can match your pace. But I knew, without even looking that I hadn’t repeated last week’s time. Close enough though, with 25:22. And I’ll take consistency at the moment.

Stats and stuff:
5k 25:22
1. 4:58
2. 5:08
3. 5:05
4. 5:35
5. 4:36

2 Comments »

  1. Good running!!

    I Always start to hurt at the same point, the turn next to the ruff ground and had to stop today and catch my breath….a girl of no more than 16 patted me on the shoulder and asked if I was ok! I have never felt to old and useless in all my life, but it was much appreciated and typical of the runners that show up every Saturday, a touch of class.

    Like

    Comment by soccerampmam — 26 February 2011 @ 21:17 | Reply

    • That’s one of the best things about parkrun – the range of runners and the friendly support. A fantastic event and one I enjoy every time I can make it.

      Like

      Comment by The Scribbler — 26 February 2011 @ 23:29 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

