The Scribbler

30 January 2011

Tomorrow is the first day

Filed under: bike,run,swim,triathlon — The Scribbler @ 19:52
Tags: , ,

… of official triathlon training 🙂

You know me. I do like a plan and my 12 week plan starts tomorrow. It’s not too much different from what I do at the moment, just with a few more focused sessions for swimming and running – distances and paces to hit. And then some brick sessions in a few weeks’ time. I am excited about it. Can you tell?

I love having an event to focus on and train for. I know I can happily keep things ticking over when I don’t and even enjoy trying things that aren’t on plan occasionally, but the focus seems to suit me. I’m also sticking a 10k race in one weekend and probably another aquathlon a couple of weeks before my tri.

I’m not going into this with huge expectations. My swim time is not that fast; I’ll be on a bike with nobbly tyres, and my 5k time puts me at the back of the middle of the pack for parkrun. But I’m massively looking forward to the challenge and am warming to the other disciplines as my run mileage decreases.

So, as they say in one of my favourite movies, here goes nothing…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

