The Scribbler

12 November 2010

Birthday cake blog

Filed under: run — The Scribbler @ 18:36
Tags: , , , ,

Today is my birthday. I’m 39 (I know, thank you…). And I’m going into my next year fitter, happier and more thankful than ever for some amazing friends and family who have supported and encouraged me through my challenges this year.

Last night was filled with laughter as we enjoyed the Armstrong and Miller show live. I can’t remember when I laughed so much. Some fantastically clever staging, quick changes and songs you couldn’t sing for chuckling too much. A really good night out.

For once, this morning I wasn’t training. And, strange as it may sound, that would have been a perfect start to my day. But it was nice to take a bit of time to read all my cards and open some very well chosen presents before heading off to work wearing my new jumper dress that I’ve chosen as a treat from my mum (thanks mum).

It was great too to check my facebook messages, emails, texts and tweets and see so many people wishing me a happy day. I’ve made a lot of new friends in the past 12 months, mainly through running, and it was lovely to know you were thinking of me.

But for me, a birthday isn’t a birthday without cake. And although I like baking, I knew I was going to be hard pressed for time to rustle up a treat.

Luckily my pal Erika had made some scrumptious and very professional cupcakes for my charity cake sale and agreed to make some more for my birthday. I like birthdays, but I like them even better when I share them with people that I care about. So it was great to be able to pass them on to some special people. I just hope you enjoy them as much as I have.

Tonight, I’m off for more tasty grub at a local restaurant. And then a restful day on Saturday, hoping to make a dent in some of my birthday books and work out how to use my new birthday gadget – a watch that records your swim lengths in the pool.

And why all this laziness? Well it’s not because I want to take it easy. Far from it in fact. I’d love to be out for a run or a training session, despite the November winds whipping up the leaves. But I’m racing again on Sunday. And right now, that means resting.

The Town Moor 10k is my current PB course. It’s the scene of my regular parkruns and probably my last ‘blast it out’ 10k of the year. I am trying very hard not to set myself any expectations. The weather could really be a challenge on this rather exposed, windswept route.  

So I’ll settle for a good run. One that I run hard, but finish smiling. And I’ll look forward to seeing some of my new friends and old at the start and finish. Fuelled by cake and with fresh legs, raring to go, it promises to be a great birthday weekend.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

