The Scribbler

17 October 2010

Busy times

Filed under: copy writing,Parkrun,run,training — The Scribbler @ 16:42

This week I have:

  • Visited Dublin
  • Encouraged my nephew (aged 9) to try his first oyster in The Temple Bar
  • Delivered a writing workshop with a new colleague
  • Taken photos for a fashion blog
  • Finished a large writing project at work
  • Had my car MOTd (expensive)
  • Been to my first ever ‘swish’ clothes swap
  • Written copy for a friend’s photography website
  • Blitzed an amazing PT session on the beach
  • Finished my fourth parkrun only a second slower than last week
  • Got some bits for my bike so I can go out for longer rides without fearing a puncture – and discovered it has a quick release wheel

Just about any of those is worthy of a blog post on their own. And I’m already looking forward to a packed week ahead which promises lots of nice things.

I’m heading up to Scotland for a writing course in a very posh country house. The accomodation looks fab and I’m really looking forward to spending some quality time writing and meeting other people who do a similar job to me. I like being the expert at what I do where I am, but sometimes it can get a bit lonely, not having other people around who really ‘get it’. I’m lucky that work will pay for me to do training like this.

On the way back home I’m planning to take in another parkrun. This time in Edinburgh. And that will be a chance to meet some great  friends from Fetch Everyone and have a blast. I think I might break out the new shoes for that one.

Being away for a few days means I have to be a bit flexible with my training. Although I have a great new plan which really mixes things up a lot and includes swimming, cycling and running. Hmmm, what can that mean?

A running friend at work was asking me about winter racing and what my goals were. I explained that I only plan to run twice a week and do lots of other stuff and just see how I go at my next 10k race in November. I’d like to do well, but I’m not going to train specifically for that race and pile the pressure on again. And she said “Well you’re at that level of fitness now where you can just turn up for a 10k and run it well.”

And that was a real moment of revelation. Because she’s right. And that’s pretty amazing. That was beyond imaginable two years ago. To be able to run just over six miles and enjoy it. To be able to run six miles fairly easily, just pushing myself and making it hard because I want to go faster. Wow, that’s cool!

And I don’t say that to make you jealous, or to make you feel like your efforts are unworthy in comparison. Many people do far more – run faster, further, harder than I can even comprehend. But I do remember what it felt like to start out and how hard it was. And I hope I never forget that. I’m enjoying the journey so much, sometimes it’s good to be reminded of how far I’ve come.

So if you’re bimbling or plodding along, run/walking or pushing your self to go just that little bit faster; if you’re just starting out, or coming back from injury, take a small moment and look back. Look how far you’ve come and give yourself a wee pat on the back. And then turn your eyes forward and keep going.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

