The Scribbler

5 August 2010

Amazingly generous

Filed under: Great North Run — The Scribbler @ 20:29
Tags: , , , , ,

I just wanted to post a little update on my Great North Run fundraising. In case you don’t know, this year I’ll be running  in memory of my baby sister Ava. As a tribute to her, I want to raise as much money and awareness as I can for Sands, a charity that supports families who lose babies at birth or in their early days of life. You can find out more and support me on my JustGiving page.

I’ve had amazing support since I announced I was doing this, from people I know well and, perhaps more touchingly, from some I’ve never met. And this week, I’ve had some incredibly generous donations that have taken my fundraising total to almost £850. I’ve been really touched by the encouraging messages that people have left.

I know a lot of people do sponsored things and a lot of people do the Great North Run, so it can become a bit of a chore, not to mention a drain on your pocket to keep shelling out for this kind of thing. But it really does mean an awful lot to me and my family to be able to do something positive for Ava. And I know, from talking to other people who have been affected by similar losses that Sands really does fantastic work to support families and health care professionals.

So I just want to say thank you to everyone who is supporting me. To those who have dipped their hands in their pockets, and to those who have read and taken the time to comment, or spread the word. Also to all my running friends who offer so much advice and encouragement. I have been astounded by your generous spirits.

Thank you.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

