The Scribbler

11 June 2010

A change of direction

Filed under: copy writing,run — The Scribbler @ 19:33
Tags:

I’ve felt for a while that the name of this blog doesn’t really match its subject matter, so it’s time to make a change.

When I first set up this blog, I was a writer, so The Scribbler seemed like a good alter-ego. Now I’m a writer and a runner. And I’ve really enjoyed writing about running and will continue to do so. But I’d like The Scribbler to reflect more of the other side of my life and to focus more on writing. You may have noticed a few posts about that already.

So I’ve moved all my running blogs over to a new home: http://mypaceoryours.wordpress.com . I’ll continue to write about running and training on that site. In fact, there will be much more to come as I begin training in earnest for the 2010 Great North Run on 19 September. From time to time, I may cross post or offer links here, but if you want to continue to join me on my running journey, please come on over to its new home.

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Michelle

    How is the running going? We chatted briefly on twitter- just thought I would ask if you suffer from any aches and strains- to date my knees, ankles and groin all play up from time to time- but recently my hamgstrings feel like they are constantly about to snap- very tight and cant seem to ease them with stretches- any ideas? Cheers Grant

    Like

    Comment by Grantly Lynch — 11 June 2010 @ 19:46 | Reply

    • Hi there,

      Running’s going really well at the moment thanks, though as you’ll have seen I’m making a few changes to my blog. I’ll happily set up a link to your site from The Scribbler when I next go and do a bit of site maintenance.

      I’m pretty lucky that I have a good degree of flexibility which I maintain through pilates, and I’ve done quite a bit of yoga in the past. But I’m finding I have to pay a bit more attention to my glutes and hips when I start to rack up the distance.

      I’ve just done a search and found some pictures that demonstrate some of the stretches I commonly do.

      http://www.iyogalife.com/slideshows/slideshows/10_Minute_Yoga_Hamstrings_printer.php Of this sequence, I’d probably do: Down dog – try and get your heels close to the floor and a nice sharp V shape with your spine Runners lunge with knee down – you should feel the stretch through the hip on the leg that’s behind you Knee down hamstring stretch – if you can, sit right back on the bent leg and then lean forward over the extended (this and the runners lunge above are really good running stretches)

      I also do this one: http://www.easyvigour.net.nz/fitness/h_Hamstring_Stretch.htm Don’t worry about having a band to wrap around the bottom of your foot – although it can help. You can hold the back of your thigh, calf, or if you’re flexible enough, ankle or foot, to get the stretch. A good trick is to raise your head up, like you’re doing a crunch and walk your hands up your leg as you ease into the stretch. Then when you’re at your limit, see if you can lower your head and maintain the stretch.

      I’ve also benefited from a really good sports massage when I’ve started to feel things getting painful. It’s amazing how pain travels and how you think it hurts somewhere and the source of it is actually somewhere else. If it’s happening a lot, it may be worth getting some professional advice.

      Hope that helps. Let me know how you get on.

      Michelle

      Like

      Comment by The Scribbler — 11 June 2010 @ 22:38 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

