The Scribbler

9 March 2010

New shoes and inspiration

Filed under: run — The Scribbler @ 19:12
Tags: , ,

I took my new so white and bright they look like a Persil commercial running shoes out for a trial today. My orthotics and the insoles felt tight and pushed my feet right up to the top of the shoe, so I ditched the insoles. But I still felt like Tigger with a spring in my step.

I’ve taken a bit of a rest from training for my Easter 10k race, partly because the volume on my training plan was proving a bit too much, but mainly because my heart and head weren’t in the right place for it.

I’m glad I listened to Ian’s advice and rested yesterday, despite the temptation to be out and exercising in the bright spring sunshine. An enforced and needed rest from running and the inspiration of the Barcelona marathon had me eager to get out there and try again.

I ran a set of intervals – 1km run 0.5km recovery out from where I work. First time for short sleeves and capris. First time the tempo runs felt manageable. It was a lovely spring day and it felt good to be out, pushing myself, not taking it too easy, trying to go with the plan.

I still drift during the tempo runs and slow down if I’m not paying attention, but I wasn’t quite pulling up short of breath and gasping at the end of each repetition and the recovery felt quicker and more controlled.

My last repetition was a bit half hearted as I didn’t really pick up the tempo until about half way through it, but overall I’m pleased with the run.

Stats and stuff:
5.9 km in 32.53
3:53 (warm up 400m)
4:43 (1km)
3:06 (500m)
5:04 (1km)
2:04 (500m)
4:51 (1km)
2:51 (500m)
5:23 (1km)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

