The Scribbler

19 December 2009

A first time for everything

Filed under: words — The Scribbler @ 15:45

Well that’s another first for me, in a year of many running firsts. I decided not to chance racing at the Saltwell 10k.

The weather’s taken a festive turn, with a pretty sprinkling of snow settling on the pavements. Last night when I was out with the gang from the work’s gym, the consensus was that the race would be cancelled because of the weather. And when it’s slippery underfoot at the coast, you have to concede it’s likely to be even worse inland. So, given my generally clumsy nature, I decided that, this time, discretion would be the better part of valour. (Call me a wuss and I’ll challenge you to a session with the kettlebells…).

So I won’t be running – booo! But equally, I won’t be risking a break, sprain or twist that could seriously mess up my festive plans. I’d have liked to have run this race as it’s one of the country’s oldest road races. But there will be lots more races. And lots more chances to run.

Good luck to everyone who braves it today. May your feet be fleet and sure.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

