The Scribbler

12 November 2009

In which I celebrate my birthday

Filed under: words — The Scribbler @ 19:58

I woke to a sunny, bright crisp autumn day and a pile of cards and presents by the bed. Lovely stuff comes in parcels from Amazon from smart friends and family who read my wish list! Lots of books and a Stephen Fry CD, from my friends plus a gorgeous new long sleeve running top from mum and dad-in-law. And a couple of surprise pressies from Gary who has already treated me to a gorgeous new winter coat and a dress that I’ll feel a million dollars in at my Christmas parties. I’m a very lucky girl.

No beach work out this morning, which was a shame as it was such a glorious day, but at least it gave me a bit more time to enjoy my morning. Off to work and more loveliness with text messages, facebook messages and a birthday hug from my running buddy Mandy. Then quite a nice day catching up with work, proofing some copy and generally a nice atmosphere in the office.

At lunchtime I went out for my first official run with the work running club. I remember when they seemed so elite and special, seasoned runners I was in awe of. Today we went out to recce the 2 mile route for this winter’s handicap series. So now I know the route, am I at an advantage? We’ll see when I run my first race against this competitive bunch next week. It was great to be out though. Cool, crisp air and sunshine, not too muddy on the trail bits and I kept up quite comfortably.

Back to work for the afternoon and my invitation to dive into the chocolate cake I’d made brought everyone round my desk for the traditional birthday embarrassment. Lovely card from my team and a brand new pair of Adidas capri running pants. I shall feel very swanky wearing this season’s running gear. I’m usually cobbled together in whatever’s been on the bargain rail!

Home tonight to even more cards and a parcel containing an awesome running songs compilation CD. Notice a theme among my presents here?

So now, here I am chilling out, listening to music and catching up with all the people who have sent me happy birthday wishes today.

And tomorrow two of our very dearest friends are bringing our gorgeous godchildren up for a visit. So the fun will no doubt continue!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

