The Scribbler

6 October 2009

Tuesday’s run

Filed under: run — The Scribbler @ 18:42
Tags: , , , ,

Tuesday was busy. A flit from meeting to meeting, discussing new projects, whipping up energy at the thought of starting something new. And in the middle of it all, a good, ‘feel like I’m alive’ run.

A good run because the weather held. The bouncing rain that earlier threatened a wash out shrank back to grey skies and damp air, slick and cool.

A good run because I had company. My favourite running companion.
A good run because I kept pace with him without too much coaching.

Good because we kept up the chat, talking training and triathlon, races, holidays and future plans.

Good because when I felt I was flagging, I largely ignored it and pushed on up the hill onto the final straight where I got my groove back.

Good because I emerged red-faced and wet through, then slept soundly that night after stretches.

Today I sit at my desk, sun blazing at my back and the outdoors calling. But I must serve my time and await my escape. I settle for writing, not running to raise a smile.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

