The Scribbler

27 February 2009

Ouch!

Filed under: Great North Run,run — The Scribbler @ 00:13
Tags: , ,

Yesterday I felt a bit of a niggle in my left thigh after a pretty brutal attempt to run intervals in a headwind. A bit of a stretch, a hot bath and I pretty much sorted it, or so I thought.
It came back with a vengeance today.
I met Ian as usual for our Thursday lunchtime run. Everything started well. I felt strong, got a nice breathing pattern, long strides, steady pace.
The first time we turned into the wind, I put my head down to power through it. But it whipped away my breath and I started to struggle to regain it.
And it continued like that pretty much the whole way back. No matter how hard I tried to push through it, it just kept pushing me back and to be honest, there were bits where I would have been faster if I was walking. But Ian kept encouraging me and I clocked up another 6k.
But once the euphoria and the adrenaline of the run wore off, that little niggly ache turned into a real sharp pain down the top of my leg. I limped back to the office, downbeat and sore, dreaming of ice packs.
I’ve settled it with myself now. A couple of days rest to get things right and then back to the training plan. But I was surprised how much it mattered, how much I resented being forced to stop, even just for a while, for my own good.
I have definitely got the bug.

1 Comment »

  1. […] first went to see her in February, just after the ‘ouch‘ incident and she sorted me right out with a good deep tissue massage and a prescription of […]

    Like

    Pingback by Getting to the bottom of things « The Scribbler — 5 May 2009 @ 21:27 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

