The Scribbler

23 August 2006

I just didn’t see the omens

Filed under: books,Neil Gaiman — The Scribbler @ 18:54

Stardust left me with such a warm and fuzzy glow that I felt it deserved a post of its own. That’s why I didn’t mention that I also devoured another Neil Gaiman novel, Neverwhere in the same weekend. This made it very difficult for me to get on with stripping the wallpaper off the walls in my living room (which is what I should have been doing).

It also made me kick myself even harder for not picking up a Neil Gaiman novel before now, as I dimly recall watching at least one episode of this story in its incarnation as a TV drama. I remember a character called Door and the London underground setting, but not much more. I’ve also encountered Mr Gaiman in collaboration with Mr Pratchett (a fellow favourite author) in Good Omens, so I really have no excuse as to why I’ve missed out for so long.

I always relish finding a new favourite author and positively lick my lips when I find one who has such a vast back catalogue. It’s good news for my local bookshop too. I guarantee I’ll use the 15% discount voucher I got for signing up to Borders’ e-mail list before I finish the decorating!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

