The Scribbler

5 August 2006

Star Wars memory

Filed under: words — The Scribbler @ 22:04

My favourite movie magazine, Empire, recently published a feature using readers’ memories of the original Star Wars trilogy. Here’s mine…

I used to spend two weeks every summer with my cousins, a family of boisterous boys. It was during one of these visits that I was first introduced to the Star Wars universe. 

I was an imaginative child who spent hours reading books or creating stories for my toys, and I loved going to the pictures. But until then I’d mainly enjoyed a diet of Disney cartoons. In fact, were it not for Herbie, Empire may have been my first ever live-action film. 

I was hooked from the start. I was lost on the ice planet Hoth, searching its frozen surface. Perhaps even then I felt the first stirrings, but by the end of the film I was certain. I was in love with Han Solo. It was my first crush.

Even now when I think of Empire, it’s those two key scenes that spring to mind. Han slicing the Tauntaun with the lightsaber to save Luke. And Han dropping into the pit to emerge encased in carbonite. “He’s not dead is he?” I asked my cousin as I left the cinema. I don’t think I could have coped if he’d said “Yes”.

In the confused manner of a nine-year-old girl, I loved Han but I also wanted to be him. I longed to wear tight black pants with a white line down them and a holster on my thigh. I wanted Chewbacca to be my best friend. But, as the only girl stuck with a family of older boys, I only ever got to be Princess Leia.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

