The Scribbler

10 April 2006

A change is as good as a rest

Filed under: words — The Scribbler @ 21:46

I'm sure you'll have noticed that I haven't exactly been a regular blogger. My excuse is that I've started a new job. I know it's just an excuse, and I could just as well hold my hands up and say I've been too lazy, or found too many distractions.

And I can't really blame my new job for infringing too much on my free time. In fact, for the first time I can remember I have the kind of job where I can work regular hours and leave my work at the office. It's a pleasant change.

I met up with some friends from my former workplace last week for some food and a good old gossip. They kept asking me what was different about my new job. Well, the short answer is – just about everything. So I thought I'd keep a note about the most surprising and unexpected changes. That was in six months time I can look back and maybe appreciate what's rapidly becoming second nature to me.

The thing that's most surprised me has been moving from a very noisy, busy, high pressure environment into a quiet, airy, modern and tidy office. Up until four weeks ago I could be reading something on screen, answering the phone and keeping one ear across another conversation going on nearby, or the news report on the radio across the room. I now realise that although I could just about juggle all those things, I was probably not doing any one of them very well.

I expected to feel a big difference moving to a quiet office. But I expected to miss the noise and bustle, when, in fact, it's almost the opposite. With no radio, tv, and only the occasional phone call, I now find myself getting distracted when my colleagues are having a quiet conversation!

And this post has proved, I can't write very well when I'm half listening to the TV. But the important thing is to get in the habit of writing again and not to let work, lack of inspiration or multiple distractions put me off.

It's stating the obvious to say that I can do things better if I concentrate and focus on one thing at once. Thankfully my new job allows me that luxury and I intend to enjoy and make the most of it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

